We Exist Because We Connect

WOW!! That’s all I have to say! If I have said it once I have said it a thousand times . . . “We Just Want to Connect”. Yes we all want to be loved but I believe that it may go deeper than that. It’s about connecting to others in anyway, form, or fashion. We feel alive when we connect to others. Whether it is connecting by tragedy, circumstances, or a chance meeting; we exist because we connect.

I find myself reflecting on the many paths that I have crossed through social media. It started out as a way to connect with programmers that could help me find the answers, and I have several tweeps that have answered that call at 3 o’clock in the morning. It moved to being sad and depressed and knowing that people I didn’t know would send me inspiration. I have found strength through my tweeter family. From giving up soda, to finding my ideal shape, I have connect to others. Even in my darkest days ( when my Uncle passed ) it was my tweeter family who tweeted with me as I drove 10 hours. They prayed for me, helped me reflect and even made me laugh when I almost hijacked a Wal-mart truck, cause I left my underwear in the driveway 5 hours from home. ( that’s a whole ‘nother post )

People reach out anyway they can. Some do it by making headlines in the worst possible way, others by small acts of kindness. When people say, “Twitter makes no sense, why would people care what I’m doing”, I say there is someone out there that is probably doing or thinking the same think you are. That is what connects us, that is what makes us realize that there’s others out there like us.

How do we connect? We throw out an idea or an action or a thought hoping that someone will connect with our statement and either give support or get inspired. I know many times I have said something on twitter to find out that 10 others felt the same way at the same time. Wow, does that mean we are more alike than we are different. You mean Joe Schmoe, five states over who on paper appears to be my polar opposite is worried about the economy, health care, and being a good father, too. When you break down the walls of our personal stereotypes and our personal fears, and focus on connecting with the human spirit amazing things happen. We learn, We love, WE CARE!

Comments
2 Responses to “We Exist Because We Connect”
  1. Tiva Joy says:

    I love it, man! Awesome to know there are different avenues where different people are able to connect, and how some are able to make others connect too. Love it!

  2. Kyra says:

    I love that people we have never met in real life, and some that we’re privliged enough to meet, can send inspiration from a mile, a state, half a continent, or even a world away. Or ask what’s for dinner. I look forward to the day I get to call you my In Real Life friend too.

Leave a Reply

